Academy Council - Our Members

The role of the Academy Council is to support and challenge the standards of the school. As Council Members, we are also the protectors of its ethos and it is our duty to ensure that every child can achieve his or her full potential in a safe and caring environment.
  • Mrs Caroline Fielding

    Chair of New Close Council

    Caroline lives in Warminster and is a retired teacher of English, History and Drama. She has also worked for the LEA as an advisor on Teaching and Learning and Behaviour Management in Wiltshire Comprehensive schools.

    Caroline became an Assistant Head at Kingdown School in 2002, where one of her responsibilities was to liaise with local Primary Schools to support Transition into Year 7.

    Her area of responsibility on New Close Council is SEND (Special Education Needs and Disabilities)

  • Mr Stuart Porter

    Executive Headteacher

  • Mrs Louise Kilminster


  • Mrs Karen Bannister

    Karen is an experienced School Business Manager who joined New Close in 2010. Since becoming part of the Acorn Education Trust, Karen’s role has evolved to help the primary schools across the Trust to standardise their operational systems, to achieve efficiencies in their working practices, and to ensure that they are compliant and functioning in accordance with the needs of the school.

  • Mr Ryan Bird

    Ryan lives locally in Warminster and has a background of working in education. He currently works at Oxford University as the Chief Executive of the Students' Union. Before this he worked at the Bristol University and Weston College. Ryan has been a governor in Westbury for many years and is keen to bring his experience to New Close School.

    He is the Academy Council member with responsibility for Literacy.

  • Dawn Jones

  • Mr Ian Page

    Ian is an experienced Academy Council Member and his son attended the school. He serves in the military and his role on the Council is to oversee and develop our links with the army base and the wider community of Warminster.

  • Mrs Lisa Reynolds

    Originally from Lincoln, Lisa moved down south 22 years ago when she married her husband Steve, who was based with the Royal Artillery at Larkhill in Salisbury. They have lived in Warminster for six years and have a 14 year old daughter, who attends Kingdown School.

    Lisa has worked for 19 years for Public Health England at Porton Down in the role of Business Manager. She has experience in admin management, workforce planning, HR and performance management and is currently undertaking Chartered Management Hons Degree qualification.

    Lisa was a school governor at Dilton Marsh Primary for over 4 years and joined New Close School as Academy Council Member just over a year ago.

    Lisa is the appointed Safeguarding Academy Council member.

  • Mrs Charis Turner

    Originally from Surrey, Charis has enjoyed working as a teacher ever since leaving Roehampton Institute of Education in 1998. She has taught across the whole primary age range, but her passion lies in Early Years.

    Charis is currently working as EYFS leader and teacher of Rabbit Class. With the support of the Acorn Trust, she has helped plan and implement the opening of the Early Years Unit which has nursery (3 years+) children and Reception children working alongside each other in an environment perfect for delivering the Early Years Curriculum.

    Charis relinquished her role as SENCO at New Close in order to focus on her Early Years role, but she is now SEND academy council member.